Dante Bearrentine 2010 – 2011

25 04 2011

I’ve been really bad about posting entries to this thing. So bad that I never posted about my cat, Dante.

Dante was a very important part of my life. He moved in with me a few days before Halloween. He was just a few weeks old at the time, a stray who turned up on our doorstep and decided to adopt me and Kenny. It was love at first sight. He was cuddly and intelligent. He fit right in with us.

Kenny really took to him. Kenny, who’d been used to dogs and swore he’d never love a cat, was wrapped around Dante’s fuzzy little paw in days. He bought him amazing toys and coddled him even more than I did. The three of us shared a bed. For a little while, we were a family.

When Kenny and I lost the trailer we were living in and were forced to relocate, we had to give up our cat. My grandpa Hunt took him in. I knew he’d have a good home.

I called Grandpa today and he told me that Dante, who had been a perfectly healthy kitten when he’d moved in with him, had died of a hookworm infection. This was likely caused by the jerkoff who lives with my grandpa forcing Dante outdoors on a much-too-regular basis.

I left my cat behind firmly believing that I’d see him again. I know Grandpa did the best he could- he spent over $400 at the vet trying to get him well again. I’m crushed mostly because I didn’t get to say goodbye. I feel horribly guilty too- like the worst of pet parents. Most of all, I’m just sad that I won’t get to snuggle him again.

My poor baby.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

